top of page
Lewis Toyota-Nissan2.jpg
  • Southwest Preps

Renick, Knedler named All-Non Senior 1st team by SIK

Cimarron fullback Hunter Renick and Dodge City defensive ace Alden Knedler lead the area selections to the Sports in Kansas All-Non Senior Football Team, earning First Team honors. Both Renick and Knedler are juniors.

The team is made up of freshmen, sophomores and juniors who played varsity football during the 2019 season. Final selections are picked by Chet Kuplen of Sports in Kansas along with input from contributors and several media outlets across the state. Additional input is asked from coaches but this is a media selected team. This list is not based on recruiting.

Renick was part of a Cimarron offense which used its ground game to compile a 9-1 record in 2019, losing to Norton in the second round of the Class 2A playoffs.

Knedler, who plays at linebacker but has the abilities of a defensive back, and was a contributor to the Red Demon offense, was part of a squad that finished 2019 with a 9-1 mark.

On the Second Team were Dodge City sophomore kicker Jose Valverde and Goodland junior Layton Cure. Valverde converted a number of clutch kicks throughout the season, including two which either tied or won games late for the Red Demons. Cure was a highlight waiting to happen for a Cowboys squad which finished with a 1-8 mark in 2019.

Eight players in Class 6A, Ulysses' Koy Kenny in Class 4A, six players in Class 3A, two in Class 2A, two Meade players in Class 1A, and three players from 8-man State Semifinalist Wichita County made the honorable mention list.

Here's the complete list of area players who made the SIK Honorable Mention list:

Class 6A - Matt Freiss (Dodge City), Santonio Turner (Dodge City), Josh Janis (Garden City), Terrell Elliott (Garden City), Carlos Teran (Dodge City), Kelvin Rico (Garden City), Trey Nuzum (Garden City), Ashton Huber (Garden City).

Class 4A - Koy Kenny (Ulysses)

Class 3A - Landon Rhinehardt (Colby), Oz Perez (Holcomb), Hagain Booi (Colby), Caleb VanDeGrift (Scott Community), Gabe Browers (Scott Community), Gabe Bowers (Scott Community), Austin Dale (Hugoton).

Class 2A - Efren Natividad (Southwestern Heights), Tate Seabolt (Cimarron).

Class 1A - Korben Clawson (Meade), Cullen Lumry (Meade).

8-Man/6-Man - AC Hermosillo (Wichita County), Sheldon Whalen (Wichita County), Jesse Gardner (Wichita County).

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

It's been a solid fall sports season for Meade High School. Their volleyball team - playing as a co-op with Fowler - did very well, although their season ended at Sub-State, and the boys cross country

It was a close battle, as anticipated, but the Meade Buffaloes did what some thought they would do on Saturday in Victoria - defend their KSHSAA Class 1A Boys Cross Country team title. The Buffaloes o

bottom of page